Book love.

Book love

Book love
I love books. My kids love books. We also love to share the books we’re crushing on to spread the love around. Here are our top picks from the past month.

An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth
Did you know you can get library books on your iPad for free? They also have wait-lists, which is how I scored this bestseller An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earthwaaaaaay before I could get a copy from my local bibliotheque. This book was awesome. Some parts are a tad dry, I’m not gonna lie. Not too technical, just a little ho-hum. But then the rock and roll commander throws awesome marriage/career/life advice into a story about meeting Elton John or unconsciously flying a plane for SIXTEEN seconds (count it out with your eyes closed – freaky!) and you realize just how brilliant this book truly is.

Super Captain UnderpantsDiaper Baby 2 The Invasion of the Potty Snatchers
Alex loves Captain Underpants. He reads this one during meals, hockey games, and basically everything. I’m not a fan. It’s comic-book format, which is great, and has tons of spelling and grammar mistakes, which is not great. I get that it’s done on purpose to “show kids that they can be creative without having to worry about being perfect.” Still, it feels wrong for the same reasons that goo-goo-ga-ga-baby-talk doesn’t help babies learn to communicate. I’m also not crazy about the potty humour – which, of course, the boys love. But since it’s mild, and he loves it and he’s reading all. the. time, I’m not about to put my foot down. I will, however, subject him to many a “And can you tell me what’s wrong on this page?” when we have the chance.

Olivia the BallerinaOlivia the Ballerina
This was one of Jack’s Christmas presents from my mother-in-law, who knows he has a thing for Olivia. Despite his initial protest that ‘This must be for Lola because it’s a ballerina,’ he’s been asking me to read it with him almost every day. Cute story, he can sound out most of the words, and Lola likes it too. Thanks for the great gift, Regina!

Baby Einstein My FamilyMy Family
Another nice Christmas present that Lola’s been enjoying. She likes the fabric tags on the side as well as all the “doggies”. Yup, still working on that. Lola’s also really into colouring the pages with another fave present: oil pastels. That sky used to be completely white, but that’s nothing compared to the inside. Our budding reader/artist.

Ernie hasn’t been reading much lately, he’s been a little too busy helping the boys build…
The Death Star
Lola was so excited about this “family gift” from Santa that she managed to look up from her My Little Pony book for about a second. Um… thanks Santa?

Read anything good lately? Leave a comment or email us to share!

We'd love to know your thoughts!

