Book love.

Congrats to Megan, who won our new-to-food/picky eater contest! Sorry to everyone else who entered, but thanks for all your support!

Siblings kids reading bunk beds

Book love
I love books. My kids love books. We also love to share the books we’re crushing on to spread the love around. Here are our top picks from the past month.

Myself…

Gone Girl Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl
My friend Lana recommended this thriller and I can’t put it down. It’s about a newish (rich) wife who goes missing, her frazzled (poor) hubby, and the eclectic family members and cops on the case. It’s summed up in this jacket one-liner: Marriage can be a real killer. Not enough for ya? How about the back-cover praise: This is a wonderful and terrifying book about how the happy surface normality and the underlying darkness can become too closely interwoven to separate. Hmmm. I’m thinking any non-singles can relate, hopefully in a little less murdery/psychotic way. Thanks for the great reco Lana!

My eight-year-old…

The Love of Hockey

The Love of Hockey
I broke out my rollerblades for the first time in A DECADE and took a spin around our block. It wasn’t pretty, but it was fun. On my way home, I spotted a table of books that a neighbour was giving away, so of course I hobbled over “just to look”. Let’s just say that a rusty rollerblader with an armload of books is very entertaining to watch, especially when there are potholes involved. Anyway, it was worth it to see Alex’s reaction and also since he’s been reading this one every day, going so far as to read it at recess FOR FUN. Awesome.

My five year-old…

Lego Super Heroes Batman Visual Dictionary

LEGO Super Heroes Batman Visual Dictionary
Another random day, another random neighbour spring cleaning and leaving their offerings on the curb. What can I say – we live in a very benevolent ‘hood! This was a no-brainer and I wasn’t even wearing rollerblades! Jack was a little disappointed there was no little LEGO guy in the Batman-shaped hole on the cover, but he got over it. And now he’s sleeping with it and “reading” it to Lola, until she gets too interested at which point he runs away “for privacy.” Natch.

My toddler…

Belly Button Book Sandra Boynton

Belly Button Book
My kids are fans of Sandra Boynton. And while sometimes it’s a bit much, other times it’s just right. Lola recently got hit by a wicked gastro bug and all she wanted to do was cuddle and talk about beebos, so yup, this was just the thing. Poor Lola. And poor washing machine.

My hubby…

Game of Thrones

Ernie’s been enjoying the poisonings/head explosions/dragons/nudity. Me… not so much. And nope, we haven’t read the books.

Read/watched anything good lately? Leave a comment below or email us to share!

2 thoughts on “Book love.

  1. I LOVED Gone Girl. I just finished “The Husband’s Secret” by Liane Moriarty which I loved. I encourage book clubs. The club I am in has incredible women dealing with the same challenges we all have. Provides a much needed “girl’s” night out once a month. Fabulous books the rest of the family are reading. Kudos for supporting reading in your family.

We'd love to know your thoughts!

