Book love.

I love books. My kids love books. We also love to share the books we’re crushing on to spread the love around. Here are our top picks from the past month.

Myself…

JOMO

The Joy of Missing Out
One of my awesome friends shared Christina Crook’s TEDx talk with me a while ago, and it made me pause. So when I heard about her new book chronicling her experiment to go internet-free for thirty-one days, I was intrigued. I was also skeptical. I’m a social-media-savvy-mom/blogger and I use a bunch of cool software at work, so I couldn’t really imagine how to apply JOMO to my everyday. But then I remembered that feeling, you know the one, when you realize you have no wifi/signal/battery, survive the withdrawal, and start to feel something you never feel when you’re always online: calm. So then I read the book. I like her style. She begins her thoroughly researched novel by presenting both the good and the bad about the internet, and goes on to detail her web-free month. She’s honest (I lol’d when she revealed she had nineteen browser tabs open – I can relate!) and non-judgmental, which is just my cup of tea. This book is ideal for anyone wanting a crash-course in mindfulness and simple solutions to curb your web/phone/tech addictions (jump straight to the Chapter Challenge on page 63 if you need a quick fix).

My eight-year-old…

Literacy for kids

The Hockey News
You guys already know Alex is hockey crazy, right? I bet you also know that introducing different types of reading material (as in magazines and newspapers) to early readers helps their overall literacy skills. Alex was lucky enough to get a subscription to The Hockey News for Christmas and he’s hooked, so it’s a win-win all around. Well, except for his fave team. Boo!

My five year-old…

Rosie Revere Engineer

Rosie Revere Engineer
I took this out of the library for Lola, but Jack fell in love. It’s a delightful story about a little girl who delights in her inventions until she’s ridiculed and embarrassed and decides to swear off engineering for good. Luckily she changes her mind when her aunt and namesake (yup, THAT Rosie) comes to visit and teaches her that failing is part of inventing. Jack, and the rest of the fam, loved this book so much that he requested it’s prequel, Iggy Peck Architect. I was happy to oblige.

My preschooler…

Matthew and the Midnight Tow Truck

Matthew and the Midnight Tow Truck
I’m not sure what it is that Lola loves about this one but boy does she ever love it. I think it might be the name. Or the licorice. Or maybe the tow truck. All I know is that my kids are all about breaking stereotypes these days and I am all for it. Woot!

Leave a comment below to let us know if you’ve read anything good lately!

4 thoughts on “Book love.

  1. Thanks Charise. I’ve put holds on The Joy … and Rosie. They look and sound amazing. See you in the schoolyard. Cheers Lana

  2. I also read The Joy of Missing Out – it certainly opened my eyes, even though I have always had this underlying feeling that too much technology has zapped a lot out the simple joys from our society. My kids painted a JOMO box for us, and at all social gatherings, every adult who comes to our home puts their phone in there. I give myself JOMO time-outs all the time, like when I’m doing something that doesn’t require having a phone on me. I too am a social media/blogger, but found I was using my phone at the weirdest times…like when cooking dinner! So now I experience the joy of cooking without the distraction of the internet. Anyway, love how you show what you guys are reading! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Taslim! I love that you’re teaching your kids about JOMO and they’re responsible for enforcing it too – that’s awesome! I’ve also been guilty of checking my phone when there’s a spare minute in the kitchen and the result’s usually burnt dinner and one hangry family! We need to work on that JOMO box asap :)

We'd love to know your thoughts!

